Millbridge Junior Infant and Nursery School


School Governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children's education. All Governors are voluntary members of the community who attend meetings in their own time. As part of a team, they take time from their busy schedules to make visits to our school in order to get to know staff and children, so that they can be better informed when making decisions.

The Governing Body is responsible for the conduct of its school, and must promote high standards of educational achievement at the school. It is the school’s accountable body and as such provides a strategic view of the school by establishing a vision and setting the purpose and aims of the school within an agreed policy framework.

It appoints and performance manages the head teacher, agreeing the school improvement strategy which includes setting statutory targets with supporting budgets and staffing structures.

It monitors and evaluates the work of the school by reviewing the performance, the effectiveness of the policy framework, progress towards targets, and the effectiveness of the school improvement strategy.

It signs off the self-evaluation process and responds to school improvement service and Ofsted reports as necessary.

The role of the governing board is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school.

The Governing Body meets every half term to discuss all areas of school activity in order to ensure that the school is fulfilling its duties and to consider any new developments and improvements and governors regular visit the school to fulfil their areas of responsibilities. Please see the minutes of previous meetings below.

To view more information about the Governors as above, please ask in the school office.

Millbridge Governors

Vic White - Chair of Governors
Nicola Pritchard - Vice Chair of Governors
Tom Kitching - Trust Governor 
Maureen Rose - Trust Governor
Sue Bonham - Parent Governor
Chris Evans - Parent Governor
Kelly Cardwell - Parent Governor
Kirstie Humphreys - Staff Governor